What are Marcia's four identity statuses?

What are Marcia's four identity statuses?

The Four Identity Statuses of Marcia The four identity states are as follows: attained, moratorium, foreclosed, and dispersed. These terms are used in psychology to describe different stages that someone may go through as they attempt to identify who they are.

Attained identity is the final stage of identity formation. People who have attained their identity tend to feel complete about themselves and believe that there is nothing more that they can learn about themselves. They may also feel a sense of obligation to others not to risk harming the image that they have worked so hard to establish for themselves.

Moratorium identity is the first stage of identity development. People who reach this point in their identity formation know exactly who they are not yet ready to accept themselves fully. They may feel a need to keep learning new things about themselves and try on different roles until they find one that fits them best.

Foreclosed identity is the second stage of identity formation. People at this point have given up trying to figure out who they are because it is too late for change. They may feel like something is wrong with them or that they are missing out by not knowing who they are yet.

Dispersed identity is when an individual has lost connection with what makes them unique.

What are the four identity statuses?

Erik Erikson's The four identity states are as follows: attained, moratorium, foreclosed, and dispersed. Attained identity is a fully developed sense of self that has achieved its goals. In contrast, individuals in the moratorium stage are trying to decide what role they will play in life; they are still searching for meaning and purpose but have not yet found it. Those in the foreclosed or lost stage believe that there is no hope for attaining higher forms of identity development; they may even feel guilty for having wanted to be an artist or writer when they were a child. Finally, those in the dispersed phase experience multiple roles but lack a coherent sense of who they is.

Erikson proposed these stages as a way to understand how people cope with adversity. Attained identities are stable, consistent, and focused; they are not affected by circumstances.

Individuals at risk of losing their current identity status should be provided with opportunities to explore different possibilities through real-life experiences and social interactions. They might want to consider changing jobs, moving, or taking up a new hobby.

For example, if you're struggling with lost identity because you've given up on your dreams of being a musician then going back to school for guitar would be a good idea.

What are the four identity statuses?

He defined four identity statuses: foreclosure, identity dissemination, moratorium, and identity attainment. A person in the foreclosure stage refuses to accept themselves as who they are because they feel they do not have an authentic identity. In the identity dissemination stage, individuals begin to accept themselves but still look for more positive aspects of their personality that may be missing.

They move on to the moratorium stage when they no longer feel the need to change themselves or their identity. Finally, people in the attainment stage accept themselves completely as who they are meant to be.

This model has been widely accepted by researchers working with marginalized groups. It provides a useful way of understanding how individuals can overcome prejudice against their group identities.

For example, someone from a foreclosed minority group might believe that they are not entitled to equal treatment under the law because they did not experience discrimination. But this individual would be in the foreclosure stage of Maslow's hierarchy of needs. They would lack a sense of belonging and have unrealistic expectations about what it means to be American. Once they attain some security and respect within their community, then they will be able to work on attaining self-esteem and a healthy ego structure.

About Article Author

Marcus Hormell

Marcus Hormell is a security expert, survivalist and personal safety consultant. His expertise includes developing emergency response plans for businesses, schools and individuals. Marcus knows that accidents happen; he has survived all sorts of life-threatening situations including being shot at by rebels in Mali. He wants to help people to develop their own emergency response plans so that if something goes wrong they'll be ready!

Related posts